Posting the new Hepcats minicomic!

July 12, 2008

Okay, I’ve finally gotten around to this, after a busy springtime. As of this posting, the first two pages of the new 8-page minicomic have been posted as a Flickr set, which you can access here. The full story is coming over the next week, but these two pages ought to get you started, with some surprising facts about some of the characters’ lives so many years after we left them.

This is only the start of the story, which is set in 2006, and contains no Snowblind spoilers, for those of you waiting for a resolution to that story. It is still forthcoming, but I find I need to do some simpler work like this first, before trying to throw myself back into a complex and lengthy graphic novel plotline that I sadly abandoned ten years ago and really haven’t thought about since.

I credit the ongoing love and support of Hepcats fans on the Yahoo Group for the existence of this. You guys and girls did the frickin’ impossible. You got me started on a new Hepcats story after ten years, a decade during which I had decided full stop that I was done with comics for good and all.

Thanks. This has actually been fun. A sensation I honestly never felt while I was actually struggling with the series from about 1994 on.

I’ll append this entry over the next few days as I add the rest of the 8-page story.

Note on hardcopies: If you’re one of the folks who bought stuff from me last December/January during that big fundraiser I had, you’re automatically getting a signed hardcopy. As for the rest of you, well, this is under a Creative Commons license, so I guess there’s no stopping any of you from printing up your own copies. But if you’d like a signed hardcopy from me, I’ll be putting that info up here later on. Actually, I am needing to do another big fundraiser starting this weekend (doggie gotta go to vet for kidney meds), so look for plenty of information on the various goodies I’ll be putting together for you all to be posted throughout the evening of Friday, July 11.

Thanks again and I’ll be back soon.

3 Responses to “Posting the new Hepcats minicomic!”


  1. [...] Wagner has begun posting pages from a new Hepcats minicomic. There are 2 up now, with a total of 8 planned, at which point he’ll be selling signed [...]

  2. Kyle Says:

    Congratulations on getting back on that horse, Martin! I can’t even tell you how wonderful it is to see new Hepcats.

    Go get ‘em!


  3. Hello, Martin!

    I don’t know if you remember me or not, but I used to write to you frequently, when “Hepcats” (the comic book) first came out.

    It’s good to know you are making a comeback (sort of), and I’ll try to check out your new mini-comic, at every opportunity that I can.

    Hopefully, this ‘recession’ won’t affect your talents, and that you’ll obtain an all-new clique of fans (none of whom, I hope, will ‘upset the apple cart’ again).

    Here’s wishing you the best of luck! ;)

    Sincerely, Jed


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

