And here we are, a year later!

December 20, 2010

…and still no Hepcats news. I know. What people must remember is that Hepcats is no longer what I do for a (heh heh) living, nor is it even high on my leisure time priorities list. Right now I have a documentary feature I’m putting together piece by piece, while working as an AD (assistant director) and PA (production assistant) on various film and TV projects to pay the bills. It keeps me busy.

Part of me regrets the enthusiasm with which I announced the completion of Snowblind as a webcomic a few years back — not because I don’t intend to do it, but because the announcing of it inevitably meant that people would build up expectations of quick, if not immediate, delivery, and that it would also be misinterpreted as an announcement I am returning to comics as a working professional. The latter is emphatically not happening. I have a new line of work now, and hope to have some new creative efforts in that field to show old Hepcats fans that they’ll be just as entertained by. But for now, please don’t think I’m intentionally neglecting you. And if some of you feel my Snowblind announcement was misleading, sorry, that’s my bad and I should have been more clear about how it may or may not roll out depending upon other demands on my time.

For those of you who might like to see some new art, there is this item to show: a one-sheet for an independent crime comedy directed by a friend of mine here in Austin, who’s also assisting me in a producer capacity on my doc. It’s very much in the old Hepcats pen and ink style. It was fun to do, but did not exactly instill in me a desire to return to a full-time schedule of 16-hour days at the drawing table.

As any new work of mine that I think might interest you crops up, I’ll update here. Otherwise, I do hope all of you have a safe and enjoyable holiday season.

One Response to “And here we are, a year later!”

  1. Tim Says:

    It’s sad to me, that you feel that way. Perhaps you could publish the manuscript or have someone else draw it. my friends and I would pay to finally see the end of your beatiful story after so many years. Whatever is decided, I will still remain a fan of your work. Thanks for the updates.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

